Governor Barbour

April 17, 2009


Governor Haley Barbour announced today the inclusion of seven Mississippians among the semifinalists in the 2009 Presidential Scholars Program.

The scholars are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in many areas – academic and artistic success, leadership, and involvement in school and the community. From a pool of nearly 2.8 million graduating high school seniors, approximately 3,000 students were identified as candidates in this program. Only 560 semifinalists have been chosen.

"The Mississippi students chosen as semifinalists come from a wide range of educational settings, but they have two things in common: they excel and we’re very proud of them,” Governor Barbour said. “Young people who enjoy success academically show an extraordinary amount of self-discipline and deserve our support and congratulations.”

The Mississippi semifinalists include:
- Bailey Hansen , a student at Jackson Academy.
- Laura Lindell, a student at Jackson Prep.
- Rachel Mast, a home school student from Crawford.
- Jared Moffat, a student at Jackson Prep.
- Lydia Roberts, a student from Oxford High School.
- Grace Serio, a student at St. Andrew’s Episcopal School.
- Annie Wentzell, a student at the Mississippi School of the Arts.

For general information about the Presidential Scholars Program, go to or call 202.401-0961.