Home | Contact | First Lady | Biography | Staff

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                    Click here to view the Governor's

March 7, 2007                                                                                                                   Executive Order




(Jackson, Mississippi) — Governor Haley Barbour has signed an executive order creating a new task force that will work to develop a health information technology infrastructure and improve the quality and reduce the cost of health care in Mississippi.


“Katrina demonstrated the need for timely, more secure and accessible health information, and the Mississippi Health Information Infrastructure Task Force will develop the roadmap that guides Mississippi to adopt a plan that’s superlative to our existing technology infrastructure,” Governor Barbour said.


The 20-member task force will convene March 12 in Jackson to begin the process of making detailed recommendations, searching for funding options, and setting key milestone dates to achieve within the next two years.


“I look forward to hearing the committee’s recommendations,” Barbour said. “Providing this technology is vital to the health of all Mississippians.”


The committee will evaluate key issues of health information exchange such as:


• Availability of health information at the point of care for individuals;

• Reducing medical errors and avoiding duplicative medical procedures;

• Improving coordination of care between hospitals, physicians, and other health care professionals;

• Providing consumers with their health information to encourage greater participation in their health care decisions;

• Assuring the confidentiality and privacy of medical information;

• Improving public health disease surveillance within the state; and

• Furthering health care research.




Dr. Ken Davis- Medical Director, North Mississippi Hospital

Dr. John Fitzpatrick - Medical Director, Forrest General

Scott Stringer -Vice President Information Technology, BCBS

Teresa Planch- Director, Office of Insurance, DFA

Mary Helen Bowen- Director of Pharmacy, St. Dominic Hospital

Chris Anderson- CEO, Singing River Hospital

Timothy Thomas- CEO, Newton Regional Center, Chair of the East Central MS Trauma Care Region

Phillip Clendenin- CEO, River Region Health System

Ann Peden- Healthcare Information Management System Society of Mississippi (HIMSS)

Dr. Jim McIlwain- eHelath Initiative/SGA Task Force

Ricki Garrett- Executive Director, MS Nurses Association

Pasty Horton- Director Clinical Resource Management, Baptist Hospital

Warren Jones- Professor of Health Policy

Bill Rudman, Professor, Health Information Management, UMC

David Litchliter- Executive Director, ITS

Sam Dawkins- Director of the Office of Health Policy and Planning, MDH

Rep. Sid Bondurant

Rep. Steve Holland

Sen. Alan Nunnelee

Sen. Terry Burton