CONTACT: Office of the Governor
Pete Smith (601) 359-3150 or (601) 720-8733
Kathryn Stewart (601) 359-3150

Tuesday, December 21, 2004

Governor Barbour Makes Appointments to State Volunteer
Service Commission

(Jackson, Miss.)—Governor Haley Barbour announced the appointments of Billy Campbell, of Meridian; Duane Dillon, of Tylertown; Lee Norris, of Tupelo; Charles M. “Chuck” Ueltschey, of Gulfport; Joe A. Haynes, of Ridgeland; Claiborne Barksdale, of Oxford; Diann Payne, of Gautier; and Lenore Stanley, of Corinth, to the State Volunteer Service Commission. All appointees will serve a three-year term, ending October 1, 2007. The mission of the Mississippi Volunteer Service Commission is to engage and support Mississippians of all ages and backgrounds in service to their communities.

“These appointees are well-qualified,” said Governor Barbour. “Each has extensive experience in this area, and I feel confident they will serve the people of Mississippi well.”

Billy Campbell has worked as the Chief of Staff to the Congressman G. V. “Sonny” Montgomery, the Vice President of Mississippi Rags, a computer installer for Mid-State Automotive Distribution, and as co-owner of Motor Supply in Meridian. Campbell attended Meridian Community College and the University of Alabama, where he studied general and business administration. Campbell was named the East Mississippi Business Development Corporation “Ambassador of the Year,” and is a member of the Meridian Area Navy League. Campbell also served as chairman of the “Highway 11 Antique Alley Project” through the Lauderdale County Tourism Bureau.

Duane Dillon is the current Sheriff of Walthall County, serving since September of 1997. A lifelong resident of Walthall County, Dillon attended the University of Mississippi and owned a private business for nine years. He has also worked as both a teacher and coach in Walthall, Pike and Amite Counties. From 1977 to 1980, Dillon served as Constable and Deputy Sheriff of Pike County, eventually named Sheriff of the county. Currently, Dillon is the 2nd Vice President of the Mississippi Sheriff’s Association (MSA) and will be President of MSA in 2005. Dillon is married to Keely Dillon and has two children, Jason and Jennah.

Lee Norris has served as the program manager for “Big Brothers Big Sisters” of Mississippi and as the Tupelo Community Director of the American Cancer Society and the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation. She has also worked with community relations for the United Blood Services in Tupelo, has served as the Project Manager for the New Albany Main Street Association, Inc., and has been involved with continuous quality improvements for the North Mississippi Medical Center. Norris attended Mississippi State University and the Mississippi University for Women, earning her Bachelor’s degree in communications. This year Norris was named the Northeast Mississippi “Volunteer of the Year.”

Charles M. “Chuck” Ueltschey began his professional career with Mississippi Power Company in 1969 after graduating from Mississippi State University with a degree in Engineering. He has held several positions in Marketing, Employee Development, and Economic Development. Ueltschey was also Personnel Manager of Mississippi Chemical Corporation in Pascagoula. Currently, Ueltschey serves as Manager of Community Services at Mississippi Power Company. Ueltschey is the past President of the Mississippi Economic Development Council, United Way of Jackson County, and Boys Club of Jackson County. Ueltschey also serves on the Hancock County Board of Directors for The Arts, Mississippi Commission for Volunteer Services.

Joe A. Haynes is currently the Executive Director of Jobs for Mississippi Graduates, Inc., and has served as the Associate Superintendent of Leadership and Operations for the Mississippi Department of Education. Haynes also served as the superintendent for the Greenville Public School District. He attended Alcorn State University, receiving a Bachelor’s degree in health and physical education. Haynes went on to the University of Georgia, where he received a Master in Education, and then attended Mississippi College, receiving Specialist certification. In 1983, Haynes earned his Doctor of Education from Mississippi State University.

Claiborne Barksdale is the Chief Executive Officer of the Barksdale Reading Institute in Oxford, Mississippi. Barksdale obtained his undergraduate degree from the University of Mississippi; after graduation, he taught high school English for one year and then attended the University of Mississippi School of Law. Barksdale practiced law in Jackson from 1974 to 1977 and also worked in Washington, D. C., for U.S. Senator Thad Cochran as his Chief Legislative Director from 1977-1981. Barksdale has also served as Associate General Counsel for BellSouth Cellular Corporation in Atlanta, Georgia. Barksdale is Co-Chair of the Boys’ and Girls’ Club in Oxford and chair of the Greater Oxford Community Foundation.

Diann Payne has worked as the Deputy Director, as Finance Director, and is currently the Executive Director of the Jackson County Civic Action Committee. Payne served as an Administrative Assistant for The American Bank of Jackson County and as an APA Financial Analyzer for Union Planters National Bank. She attended Mississippi Valley State University and earned her Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Southern Mississippi.

Lenore Stanley graduated from the University of Mississippi in 1973. She is a life member of the Junior Auxiliary, board member of the Corinth/Alcorn Humane Shelter, and an alumni board member of the University of Mississippi School of Applied Science. Stanley is active in the Corinth School District Parent-Teacher Organization and was selected as Corinth School District “Parent of the Year” in 1996. A former Sunday school teacher, Stanley also served as a cub-scout leader and as a church day school treasurer.


Press Releases
Executive Orders

State of the State
Other Speeches

Photo Gallery

Upcoming Events
Request the Governor
Request the First Lady

Constituent Services

State Agencies

Governor Haley Barbour
P.O. Box 139 Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: 601.359.3150 Fax: 601.359.3741

Related Post

Akun Slot Resmi
Slot Idn Terpercaya
Permainan Judi Erek-Erek
Gambar Saldo Menang Togel
slot online welcome bonus 100
agen judi slot online terpercaya
situs judi slot online indonesia
slot gacor via pulsa tanpa potongan
taruhan live casino deposit 50 ribu
situs judi slot deposit pulsa minimal 10rb