Saturday, July 18, 2015  
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
Race Relations
Do you think that race relations in the United States will improve in 2015?
40th Annual Black College All-American Weekend a Success
3/15/2014 6:05:41 PM

South Carolina State linebacker Joe Thomas received the "SBN /Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year" award. (PRNewsFoto/American Urban Radio Networks)
PITTSBURGH, PA -- The annual SBN Sports Black College All-American Awards weekend (BCAA) took place on Friday, February 28 and Saturday, March 1, 2014, at the Loews Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia. Celebrating its 40th anniversary, the weekend of activities, included an awards ceremony honoring the 2013 SBN Black College All-American Team, a reception for honorees and guests, a mentoring brunch "NFL Skull Session" and a gala enshrinement dinner hosted by the Black College Football Hall of Fame.

The weekend of BCAA events began Friday, February 28, with an awards ceremony for the 25 members of the 2013 SBN All-American Team. The ceremony was hosted by Ty Miller, American Urban Radio Networks (AURN) Director of News, Sports and Digital Services. Each member of the team received a signature SBN All-American trophy and four special awards given out as well. Southern Jaguars quarterback Dray Joseph received the "SBN /Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year" award, South Carolina State linebacker Joe Thomas received the "SBN /Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year" award, Tennessee State Head Coach Rod Reed received the "SBN/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year" award and the Tennessee State Tigers received the 2013 SBN/Jake Gaither National Championship trophy.

During Saturday's NFL Skull session, SBN All-Americans received mentoring from BCAA Honorary Committee Members including NFL Hall of Famers Mel Blount, Larry Little, Willie Lanier and John Stallworth. Robert Brazile, Kenny Burrough, James Harris, Billy "White Shoes" Johnson, Eddie Robinson Jr.,and Doug Williams were also in attendance. Others included Ricardo Lockette of the Super Bowl Champion Seattle Seahawks, Dominique-Rodgers-Cromartie of the Denver Broncos, Marcus Benard of the Arizona Cardinals, Will Ford of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Adrian Hamilton of the Baltimore Ravens and Quinton Spears of the Dallas Cowboys. Members of the SBN All-American team received signature 2013 BCAA tote bags and Wilson signature footballs for autographs during the session.

The main event took place Saturday, March 1, 2014, and was co-hosted by Charles Davis and Steve Wyche of the NFL Network. Ron Davenport Sr., AURN Co-chairman and Sr. Chairman of Sheridan Broadcasting Corporation was presented with a Black College Hall of Fame Founders Award. The annual award is presented to an individual who has helped ensure the ascension and success of Black College Football and the Black College Football Hall of Fame.

AURN President of Program Operations and Affiliations Jerry Lopes spoke on behalf of AURN and SBN Sports and introduced the 400 plus guests in attendance to the 2013 SBN All-American Team, the offensive and defensive players of the year and National Championship Team. Davis and Wyche conducted the The Black College Hall of Fame enshrinement of the Class of 2014. The new Hall of Fame members are; Robert Brazile (Jackson State), Leroy Kelly (Morgan State), Coach/Athletic Director Marino Casem (Alcorn State, Southern), John Stallworth (Alabama A&M), Michael Strahan (Texas Southern), Willie Totten (Mississippi Valley State), and Doug Wilkerson (North Carolina-Central)

Source via PR Newswire

Visitor Comments

Account Login  

  need help?  
Current Conditions
Partly Cloudy
Charleston, SC
Radar & More >>
click ad below for details
Show All Ads