BOXTOROW Releases Men’s Division I Basketball All-America Team

Jermaine Marrow

Despite the season not being fully completed due to COVID-19, the 2019-20 season was still memorable and exciting. With that, BOXTOROW releases its 12th annual Division I men’s college basketball All-America teams.

Hampton guard Jermaine Marrow has been named BOXTOROW Division I National Player of the Year for the second year in a row. Marrow, a senior from Newport News, Va., finished fourth in Division I in scoring, averaging 24.8 points per game, and 11th in assists per game (6.5). He was the only player in Division I in the top 15 in both categories. Marrow helped lead the Pirates to a fifth place finish in their second season in the Big South Conference and a finals appearance in the championship game. Marrow becomes the first player to repeat as winner in the awards history.

North Carolina A&T acting head coach Will Jones and Tennessee State head coach Brian “Penny” Collins have been named BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year. Jones took on the role as acting head coach in late December and led the Aggies to a 17-15 overall record and a second place finish in the MEAC. His record after taking over the program was 14-5. Collins, in his second year, led one of the best turnarounds in Division I, as the Tigers finished the season 18-15, 9-9 in OVC play. The Tigers had been invited to play in the College Invitational Tournament (CIT). TSU went 9-21 during the 2018-19 season.

Ten schools are represented on the 2020 BOXTOROW Division I men’s college basketball All-America teams.  BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2009.

First Team All-Americans

Jermaine Marrow, Hampton (G, 6-2, Sr., Newport News, Va.)

Jibri Blount, North Carolina Central (F, 6-7, Sr., Pittsburgh, Pa.)

Ben Stanley, Hampton (F, r-Soph., Baltimore, Md.)

Kameron Langley, North Carolina A&T, (G, 6-2, Jr., Greensboro, N.C.)

Devonte Patterson, Prairie View A&M (F, 6-7, Sr., Bridgeport, Texas)

Ronald Jackson, North Carolina A&T (F, 6-8, Sr., Clay County, Fla.)

Cletrell Pope, Bethune-Cookman (F, 6-9, Sr., Northport, Ala.)

Gerard Andrus, Prairie View A&M (G, 6-5, Sr., Lafayette, La.)

Second Team All-Americans

Charles Williams, Howard (G/F, 6-6, Jr., Richmond, Va.)

Jermaine Bishop, Norfolk State (G, 6-1, r-Sr., Queens, N.Y.)

Ivy Smith, Jr., Grambling State (G, 6-0, Sr., Tacoma, Wash.)

Roland Griffin, Jackson State (F, 6-5, Sr., Aurora, Ill.)

Tyrik Armstrong, Texas Southern (G, 5-10, Sr., Houston, Texas)


BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Jermaine Marrow, Hampton

BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year: Will Jones, North Carolina A&T and Brian Collins, Tennessee State

BOXTOROW National Players of the Year

2019-20 Jermaine Marrow, Hampton

2018-19 Jermaine Marrow, Hampton

2017-18 R.J. Cole, Howard

2016-17 Patrick Cole, North Carolina Central

2015-16 James Daniel, III, Howard

2014-15 Kendall Gray, Delaware State

2013-14 Jeremy Ingram, North Carolina Central

2012-13 Pendarvis Williams, Norfolk State

2011-12 Kyle O’Quinn, Norfolk State

2010-11 C.J. Reed, Bethune-Cookman

2009-10 Reggie Holmes, Morgan State

2008-09 Tywain McKee, Coppin State

BOXTOROW National Coaches of the Year

2019-20 Will Jones, North Carolina A&T and Brian Collins, Tennessee State

2018-19 Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M

2017-18 Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T

2016-17 Mike Davis, Texas Southern and LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central

2015-16 Dana Ford, Tennessee State

2014-15 Mike Davis, Texas Southern

2013-14 LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central

2012-13 Roman Banks, Southern

2011-12 Anthony Evans, Norfolk State

2010-11 Edward Joyner, Jr., Hampton

2009-10 Todd Bozeman, Morgan State

2008-09 Todd Bozeman, Morgan State


Leave a Comment