BOXTOROW College Football All-America Team: Braves, Aggies lead with 4 players apiece

RB: Jah’Maine Martin, North Carolina A&T, r-Jr., Conway, S.C.

The top two teams in the BOXTOROW Coaches and Media Polls combined to place eight players on the 13th annual BOXTOROW All-America team. BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2007 and the voters are comprised of media members from around the nation that cover HBCU football.

Alcorn State and North Carolina A&T placed four players a piece on the team. The two teams will play in the Celebration Bowl on December 21 in Atlanta. The game kicks off the college bowl season and will once again decide this year’s HBCU national champion.

Bowie State and Florida A&M each placed three players on the team, while South Carolina State had two players. West Virginia State placed linebacker Dustin Crouser on the team. Crouser leads the nation in solo tackles (77) and ranks third in the nation in total tackles (132). The Yellow Jackets have not had a BOXTOROW All-American since linebacker Andrew Eggleton in 2009.

A pair of teammates received the most votes on offense. Aggie running back Jah’Maine Martin leads the MEAC and is fourth in FCS in rushing yards per game (121.5), leads FCS in yards per carry (7.8), leads the MEAC and is sixth in FCS in rushing yards (1,336), leads MEAC and is third in FCS in rushing touchdowns (21), and is tied for second in FCS in scoring (11.5). Aggie offensive lineman Marcus Pettiford was the MEAC Offensive Lineman of the Year and was voted to the BOXTOROW All-America team for the second year in a row, one of five players who have earned the distinction as previous BOXTOROW All-Americans.

Defensive linemen Tyrell Goodwin of South Carolina State and Darius Royster of North Carolina Central, the MEAC Defensive Player of the Year, and defensive backs Bryan Mills of North Carolina Central and Demetri Morsel of Bowie State, all received the most votes on defense. Morsel recorded nine interceptions, three of which he returned for touchdowns.

The BOXTOROW superlative awards will be released on Monday, December 16.

QB: Felix Harper, Alcorn State, r-Jr., Fairburn, Ga.
RB: Jah’Maine Martin, North Carolina A&T, r-Jr., Conway, S.C.
RB: Jordan Bentley, Alabama A&M, Sr., Guntersville, Ala.
OL: Marcus Pettiford, North Carolina A&T, r-Sr., Durham, N.C.$
OL: Keene Forbes, Florida A&M, r-Jr., Miami, Fla.
OL: Michael Ajumobi, Alcorn State, r-Jr., Dallas, Texas
OL: Alex Taylor, South Carolina State, r-Sr., Moncks Corner, S.C.
OL: Dacquari Wilson, North Carolina A&T, Soph., Greensboro, N.C.
TE: Dushon David, Bowie State, Sr., Washington, D.C.
WR: Chris Rowland, Tennessee State, Sr., Nolensville, Tenn.
WR: Xavier Smith, Florida A&M, r-Soph., Haines City, Fla.

DL: Tyrell Goodwin, South Carolina State, Sr., Columbia, S.C.
DL: Darius Royster, North Carolina Central, r-Sr., Chesapeake, Va.
DL: Demetrius Harris, Fort Valley State, r-Jr., Decatur, Ga.
DL: Joshua Pryor, Bowie State, r-Soph., Baltimore, Md.$
LB: Keonte Hampton, Jackson State, Soph., West Point, Miss.
LB: Solomon Muhammad, Alcorn State, Sr., Birmingham, Ala.
LB: Dustin Crouser, West Virginia State, Jr., Cross Lanes, W.V.
DB: Bryan Mills, North Carolina Central, Jr., Palmdale, Calif.
DB: Demetri Morsel, Bowie State, Soph., Upper Marlboro, Md.
DB: Qwynnterrio ColeAlcorn StateJr., Memphis, Tenn.$
DB: Joseph McWilliams, Grambling, r-Sr., Baton Rouge, La.$

P: Chris Faddoul, Florida A&M, Jr., West Chapel, Fla.$
PK: Noel Ruiz, North Carolina A&T, Jr., Wilson, N.C.
RS: Braxton Gambrell, Johnson C. Smith, Sr., Seneca, S.C.
PR: Anthony Evelyn, Lane, Soph., Atlantic Beach, Fla.
KR: Braxton Gambrell, Johnson C. Smith, Sr., Seneca, S.C.

Honorable Mention
QB: Ja’rome Johnson, Bowie State; Ryan Stanley, Florida A&M
RB: Stevie Green, Fayetteville State; Terraris Saffold, Central State
OL: Frank Ball, Virginia State; Jerimiah Abby, Southern; Jean Cyriaque, Morehouse$; Kenneth Kirby, Norfolk State; Aaron Scroggins, Miles; Lachavious Simmons, Tennessee State;
TE: Jordan Jones, Prairie View A&M
WR: Donnie Corley, Texas Southern; De’Montez Burroughs, South Carolina State
DL: Marques Ford, Bethune-Cookman$; Marcus Cushine, Alabama A&M
LB: Nigel Chavis, Norfolk State; Rico Kennedy, Morgan State; Ian McBorrough, Morgan State; Durrell Nash, Saint Augustine’s
DB: Markquese Bell, Florida A&M; .Daryus Skinner, Winston-Salem State; Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union$; Terry Jefferson. Florida A&M
P: Anthony Craven, Alabama State
RS: Chris Rowland, Tennessee State
KR: Jimmie Robinson, Bethune-Cookman
PR: Tyrin Ralph, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

$2018 BOXTOROW All-American


Selection panel: Bonitta Best, Triangle (N.C.) Tribune; Roscoe Nance, Nance Sports; Herbert White, Charlotte Post; Fred Suttles, Albany State Sports Radio Network; Kamarri Darrington, Tallapoosa Publishers, Inc; Mike London, Salisbury Post; Eric Tabor, Gridiron Football Show; Scott Boatwright, Ruston (La.) Leader; Chris Clark, The Times and Democrat (S.C.); Jonas Pope, Herald (Durham) Sun; Carlos Brown, Carlos Brown Radio Show; Santoria Black, Sports Talk 97.7; Mike Wallace, Grind City Media; Jeff Kleinpeter, The Advocate (La.)

Leave a Comment