Grambling’s Hill named BOXTOROW Player of the Year again, leads All-America Team

Grambling guard Shakyla Hill

With the women’s basketball season officially over after Baylor’s 82-81 basketball victory over Notre Dame in the national championship game, BOXTOROW releases its annual Division I Women’s College Basketball All-America Teams. Grambling guard Shakyla Hill was named BOXTOROW National Player of the Year for the second year in a row. This is the third year she has made one of the All-America Teams.

Hill led the SWAC in scoring (18.9 ppg), assists (6.3), and steals (4.6) and was the only player in the top 10 in the SWAC in scoring, rebounding (7.6 rebounds per game, 2nd), assists, steals, and field goal percentage (.423, 4th). She once again made national headlines by recording her second career quadruple double, scoring 21 points, handing out 13 assists, grabbing 16 rebounds, and recording 10 steals in Grambling’s 77-57 victory over Arkansas Pine Bluff on February 2.

She is the only player in NCAA history to ever record two quadruple doubles. Her 146 steals this season was second in the nation and made her the all-time leader in steals in SWAC history.

Bethune-Cookman head coach Vanessa Blair-Lewis was named BOXTOROW Coach of the Year. In her 11th season at the helm, she led the Wildcats to a 21-11 record and a third place finish in the MEAC regular season. She then led the Wildcats to the MEAC Tournament championship – their first since 1984 – and a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

First Team All-Americans
Ashley Bates, Hampton (G, Jr., Hopkins, Minn.)
Adre’onia Coleman, Morgan State (G/F, Sr., Baltimore, Md.)
Angel Golden, Bethune-Cookman (G, Sr., Tampa, Fla.)
Marneisha Hamer, Jackson State (F, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.)
Shakyla Hill, Grambling (G, Sr., Little Rock, Ark.)
Niya Mitchell, Texas Southern (F, Jr., Bay City, Texas)
NaJai Pollard, Delaware State (F, Sr., Richmond, Va.)

Second Team All-Americans
Ciani Byrom, Maryland Eastern Shore (G, Sr., Winston-Salem, N.C.)
Shala Dobbins, Prairie View A&M (G, Sr., Tulsa, Okla.)
Brooke Fields, Coppin State (G, Sr., Owings, Mills, Md.)
C’Coriea Foy, North Carolina A&T (G, Jr., Fayetteville, N.C.)
Shawntayla Harris, Arkansas Pine Bluff (C, Sr., Tuscaloosa, Ala.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Shakyla, Grambling
BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Vanessa Blair-Lewis, Bethune-Cookman

Leave a Comment