Jermaine Marrow named BOXTOROW Division I Player of the Year, leads All-America Team

Jermaine Marrow (Photo courtesy of Hampton University)

As the Final Four approaches, BOXTOROW releases its 11th annual Division I men’s college basketball All-America teams.

Hampton guard Jermaine Marrow has been named BOXTOROW National Player of the Year. Marrow, a junior from Newport News, Va., is ranked eighth in Division I in scoring, averaging 24.4 points per game. He also averaged 4.9 assists and 4.1 rebounds per game. Marrow helped lead the Pirates to a fifth place finish in their first season in the Big South Conference as well as a quarterfinal finish in the Tournament.

Prairie View A&M head coach Byron Smith has been named BOXTOROW Coach of the Year. Smith led the Panthers to a 22-13 overall record and a 17-1 SWAC record. The Panthers also won the SWAC regular season and tournament titles. The tournament championship was the first for the Panthers in 21 years and earned them a trip to the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Twelve schools are represented on the 2019 BOXTOROW Division I men’s college basketball All-America teams. BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2009.


First Team All-Americans

Gary Blackston, Prairie View A&M (G, 6-2, Sr., Baltimore, Md.)

R.J. Cole, Howard (G, 6-1, Soph., Union, N.J.)

Jerry Combs, Texas Southern (F, 6-7, Gr., Dallas, Texas)

Raashean Davis, North Carolina Central (C, 6-9, Sr., Chicago, Ill.)

Jermaine Marrow, Hampton (G, 6-2, Jr., Newport News, Va.)

Martaveous McKnight, Arkansas-Pine Bluff (G, 6-4, Sr., Walls, Miss.)

Charles Williams, Howard (G/F, 6-6, Soph., Richmond, Va.)

Cletrell Pope, Bethune-Cookman (F, 6-9, Jr., Northport, Ala.)


Second Team All-Americans

Ivy Smith, Grambling (G, 6-0, Jr., Tacoma, Wash.)

Justin Ravenel, Florida A&M (G, 6-1, Sr., Lithonia, Ga.)

Devonte Patterson, Prairie View A&M (F, Jr., Bridgeport, Texas)

Jayveous McKinnis, Jackson State (F, 6-7, Fr., Brandon, Miss.)

Donte Fitzpatrick-Dorsey, Tennessee State (G, 6-4, Memphis, Tenn.)

Nic Thomas, Norfolk State (G, 6-2, r-Jr., Arlington, Texas)


BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Jermaine Marrow, Hampton

BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year: Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M


BOXTOROW National Players of the Year

2018-19 Jermaine Marrow, Hampton

2017-18 R.J. Cole, Howard

2016-17 Patrick Cole, North Carolina Central

2015-16 James Daniel, III, Howard

2014-15 Kendall Gray, Delaware State

2013-14 Jeremy Ingram, North Carolina Central

2012-13 Pendarvis Williams, Norfolk State

2011-12 Kyle O’Quinn, Norfolk State

2010-11 C.J. Reed, Bethune-Cookman

2009-10 Reggie Holmes, Morgan State 2008-09 Tywain McKee, Coppin State


BOXTOROW National Coaches of the Year

2018-19 Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M

2017-18 Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T

2016-17 Mike Davis, Texas Southern and LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central

2015-16 Dana Ford, Tennessee State

2014-15 Mike Davis, Texas Southern

2013-14 LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central

2012-13 Roman Banks, Southern

2011-12 Anthony Evans, Norfolk State

2010-11 Edward Joyner, Jr., Hampton

2009-10 Todd Bozeman, Morgan State

2008-09 Todd Bozeman, Morgan State

Leave a Comment