Shaw’s Amir Hinton named Player of the Year, leads BOXTOROW D2 All-America Team

Shaw guard Amir Hinton

As Northwest Missouri State won the Division II national championship on Saturday bringing the season to an end, BOXTOROW releases its 11th annual Division II All-America teams.

Shaw guard Amir Hinton was named BOXTOROW Division II Player of the Year. In his first season at Shaw, Hinton, a junior from Philadelphia, Pa., led Division II in scoring, averaging 29.4 points per game. He also averaged 4.9 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 2.3 steals per game while shooting .894 from the free throw line. Five times this season, he scored 40 or more points in a game including a season high 52 points at Tampa (12/19/18). Early in March, Hinton declared himself eligible for the upcoming NBA Draft.

Virginia State head coach Lonnie Blow was named BOXTOROW Coach of the Year.  Blow led the Trojans to a 28-5 overall record, their second CIAA Tournament championship under his leadership at VSU, and a second-straight NCAA regional appearance and first round win.

For Blow, this is his third BOXTOROW Coach of the Year honor, the second as coach of Virginia State. He is the only coach to win the award as head coach of two different teams, winning the award in 2010 as head coach at Saint Augustine’s.

BOXTOROW has administered the All-America teams since 2009.

First Team All-Americans
Pat Johnson-Agwu, West Virginia State (F, Sr., Bowie, Md.)
Omar Alston, Morehouse (F/G, Sr., Waldorf, Md.)
Kendarius Ash, Lane (F, Sr., Decatur, Ga.)
Ditalion Battle, Kentucky State (G, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
Tyre Gathright, Saint Augustine’s (G, Sr., Wilmington, N.C.)

Amir Hinton, Shaw (G, Jr., Philadelphia,  Pa.)
Jahmere Howze, Virginia State (F, Sr., Cleveland, Ohio)
Terrell Leach, Virginia Union (G, Jr., High Point, N.C.)
Roger Ray, Livingstone (G, Jr., Raleigh, N.C.)
Roddric Ross, Johnson C. Smith (F, Sr., Forest City, N.C.)

Second Team All-Americans
Devin Booker, Lemoyne-Owen (G, Fr., Chicago, Ill.)
Cameron Campbell, Lincoln (Pa.) (G, Jr., Fayetteville, N.C.)
Robert Colon, Winston-Salem State (G, Jr., Jacksonville, N.C.)
William Crandell, Winston-Salem State (F, Sr., Bethel, N.C.)
Devonte Fuller, Miles (G, Sr., Hickory, N.C.)
Shelvick Henry, Clark Atlanta (G, Sr., Wabasso, Fla.)
Will Jenkins, Virginia Union (F, Jr., Baltimore, Md.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Amir Hinton, Shaw
BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Lonnie Blow, Virginia State

BOXTOROW National Players of the Year
2018-19 Amir Hinton, Shaw
2017-18 Tyrius Walker, Morehouse
2016-17 Ray Anderson, Virginia Union
2015-16 Rodnerius Lewis, Stillman
2014-15 Denzel Dillingham, Paine
2013-14 Mark Thomas, Livingstone
2012-13 Angelo Sharpless, Elizabeth City State
2011-12 Malik Alvin, Shaw
2010-11 Raheem Smith, Shaw
2009-10 Darren Jones, West Virginia State
2008-09 Anthony Hilliard, Elizabeth City State

BOXTOROW National Coaches of the Year
2018-19 Lonnie Blow, Virginia State
2017-18 Ricky Jackson, Claflin
2016-17 Jay Butler, Virginia Union
2015-16 Lonnie Blow, Virginia State/Donte Jackson, Stillman
2014-15 Jimmy Link, Paine
2013-14 James Stinson, Paine/Leon Douglas, Tuskegee
2012-13 Fred Watson, Benedict
2011-12 Cleo Hill, Jr., Shaw
2010-11 Cleo Hill, Jr., Shaw
2009-10 Lonnie Blow, Saint Augustine’s
2008-09 Ron Woodard, Claflin

Leave a Comment