Amir Hall named BOXTOROW Offensive Player of the Year, again; leads BOXTOROW Awards list

Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall

For the second year in a row, Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall has been named BOXTOROW National Offensive Player of the Year.

The senior from Bowie, Md. was selected for the offensive player of the year award after leading Bowie State to a 10-3 record, its first ever CIAA championship and a win in the first round of the NCAA Division II playoffs. Hall became the CIAA’s all-time leading passer, as he finished the season completing 65 percent of his passes for 4,152 yards and 31 touchdowns. He also rushed for 445 yards and seven touchdowns.

North Carolina A&T defensive lineman Darryl Johnson was named BOXTOROW Defensive Player of the Year.

North Carolina A&T head coach Sam Washington was voted BOXTOROW Coach of the Year, winning the award in his first season as the head coach of the Aggies.

North Carolina A&T kick returner Malik Wilson was awarded the BOXTOROW Special Teams Player of the Year.

Alcorn State running back De’Shawn Waller was named BOXTOROW Impact Player of the Year.

Johnson, a junior from Kingsland, Ga., was named MEAC Defensive Player of the Year and leads the MEAC with 10.5 sacks and 18.5 tackles for loss.

Waller is in his first season with Alcorn State and has rushed for the most touchdowns (12) in the SWAC. He has carried the ball 168 times for 1,048 yards, is averaging 6.2 yards per carry and has rushed for 100 or more yards in a game five times. He is averaging 126.4 yards rushing in his last five games.

In his first season, Washington has led the Aggies to a 9-2 record including a win over highly ranked Jacksonville State to open the season and a win over FBS opponent ECU. Washington served as the defensive coordinator at North Carolina A&T the previous seven seasons.

The voters on the BOXTOROW Awards are comprised of media members from around the nation that cover HBCU football.

2018    Amir Hall, Bowie State
2017    Amir Hall, Bowie State
2016    Tarik Cohen, North Carolina A&T
2015    Johnathan Williams, Grambling State
2014    John Gibbs, Jr., Alcorn State
2013    Dray Joseph, Southern
2012    Kameron Smith, Winston-Salem State
2011    Casey Therriault, Jackson State
2010    Frank Warren, Grambling State
2009    Will Ford, South Carolina State
2008    Will Ford, South Carolina State
2007    Jacary Atkinson, Tuskegee

2018    Darryl Johnson, North Carolina A&T
2017    Darius Leonard, South Carolina State
2016    Darius Leonard, South Carolina State
2015    Javon Hargrave, South Carolina State
2014    Javon Hargrave, South Carolina State
2013    Darnell Evans, Shaw
2012    Brandon Thurmond, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
2011    Adrian Hamilton, Prairie View A&M
2010    Kenrick Ellis, Hampton
2009    Christian Anthony, Grambling
2008    Marcellus Speaks, Jackson State
2007    Zach East, Prairie View A&M

2018    Sam Washington, North Carolina A&T
2017    Rod Broadway, North Carolina A&T
2016    Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State and Jerry Mack, North Carolina Central
2015    Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State
2014    Jay Hopson, Alcorn State
2013    Rod Reed, Tennessee State
2012    Connell Maynor, Winston-Salem State
2011    Connell Maynor, Winston-Salem State
2010    Brian Jenkins, Bethune-Cookman
2009    Henry Frazier, Prairie View A&M
2008    Rod Broadway, Grambling State
2007    Al Lavan, Delaware State

2018    Dejuan Miller, Arkansas Pine Bluff
2017    Caylin Newton, Howard
2016    Jordan Bentley, Alabama A&M
2015    Dorrel McClain, North Carolina Central/Hakeem Holland, Virginia Union
2014    Austin Howard, Southern
2013    Tarik Cohen, North Carolina A&T
2012    Damon Gresham Chisholm, Howard
2011    Greg McGhee, Howard
2010    Casey Therriault, Jackson State
2009    Ari Johnson, Grambling State
2008    Greg Dillon, Grambling State
2007    Frank Warren, Grambling State

2018    Malik Wilson, North Carolina A&T
2017    Trenton Cannon, Virginia State
2016    Willie Quinn, Southern
2015    Willie Quinn, Southern

2018    De’Shawn Waller
2017    Caylin Newton, Howard
2016    DeVante Kincade, Grambling
2015    Lenorris Footman, Alcorn State

Leave a Comment