Bonds-Wilson High School Alumni Association Announces Rueben Smith Scholarship Award Recipients

BWHS Alumni Association Officers: Samuella Holmes, Gloria Edwards, Linda Miler, Marva McLeod, Liza Wright, Maceo Jacobs (seated)

The Bonds-Wilson High School Alumni Association (BWHSAA) strives each year to provide scholarships to students who meet the application criteria and reside in the Tri-county area (Charleston, Berkeley and Dorchester).

The Bonds-Wilson High School Scholarship has been in existence since 1992. However, the demise of Mr. Rueben Smith, a diligent worker and a dedicated supporter of the Alumni Association, the scholarship was renamed the “Rueben Smith” scholarship in his honor. BWHSAA’s goal is to focus on providing scholarships by encouraging former students (graduates and non-graduates), teachers and principals to join the Association by paying $50.00 annually.

This past school year, the BWHSAA awarded twelve $500.00 scholarships to deserving students throughout the Tri-county area. The names of the recipients that received the scholarships are:
Giseldo Garcia – R.B. Stall High attending Delaware State; Shayla Gadsen – North Charleston High attending Benedict; Danielle Wright – James Island Charter High attending Coastal Carolina; Phaizon Myers – Fort Dorchester High attending NC A&T; Maria Rojas – R.B. Stall Hall attending Trinity Washington University; Ramon Lavender – North Charleston High attending South Carolina State; Markez Coleman -Fort Dorchester High attending Clemson; Ashley Owens – Wando High attending University of South Carolina; Nataysuan Taylor – Stratford High attending Charleston Southern; Brianna Jackson – Fort Dorchester High attending Florida Atlantic University; Kira Atkins – Academic Magnet High attending MUSC School of Pharmacy; and Krysta Anderson – R.B. Stall High attending USC at Beaufort.

For additional information on the scholarship program, contact Linda J. Miller, Scholarship Chairperson at (910) 987-0289.

The officers of the BWHSAA are: Macio Jacobs – President, Samuella Holmes – Vice President, Barbara Lambright – Recording Secretary, Gloria Edwards – Assistant Secretary, Liza Wright – Treasurer, Linda Miller – Financial Secretary and Marva McLeod – Chaplain.

Leave a Comment