League of Women Voters of the Charleston Area Sponsors Candidate Forums for S.C. House District 116 and 119

The League of Women Voters is hosting a forum with candidates running to serve Districts 116 and 119 in the  South Carolina House of Representatives and District 8 on Charleston County Council. The forum will be held on Tuesday, October 16, at 6:00 pm. The forum will take place at Johns Island Regional Library, 3531 Maybank Hwy., Johns Island, SC 29455.

All candidates on the ballot for these offices have been invited to participate. They are: for House District 116, Robert L. Brown (Democrat) and Carroll O’Neal (Republican); for District 119, Paul Sizemore (Republican) and Leon Stavrinakis (Democrat); for County Council District 8, Joe Boykin (Republican), Eric K. Crotts (Libertarian), and Anna B. Johnson (Democrat).

Journalist Warren Peper will moderate. Candidates will answer written questions from the League and the audience.

The forum will be video streamed on https://www.facebook.com/LWVCharleston/.

The purpose of the candidate forum is to give voters an opportunity to meet candidates and hear them discuss issues of importance in this election. The event is free and open to the public. It follows the League of Women Voters’ nonpartisan, unbiased and impartial format.

Opportunities for citizens to register and update voter registrations will also be available that evening.

For a complete list of LWVCA-sponsored candidates forums visit http://lwvcharleston.org/calendar_elections.html.

Election Day is Tuesday, November 6, 2017. Polls will be open from 7 am to 7 pm.

Leave a Comment