SC State Bulldogs To Kickoff 2018 Football Campaign September 1

The 2018-2019 football season for the South Carolina State Bulldogs will kickoff this weekend as they will travel to Stateboro, Georgia to face Georgia Southern University in the season opener Saturday, September 1. The game can be seen at 6:00pm on ESPN+.

Six South Carolina State players were named to the 2018 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Preseason All-Conference team, while Coach Buddy Pough’s team was picked seventh in the race for the league title, as voted on by MEAC head football coaches and sports information directors. This was the lowest prediction South Carolina State has received under Pough’s tenure.

The announcements were made July 27 at the MEAC’s annual Football Press Luncheon held at the Hilton Norfolk – The Main in Virginia.

North Carolina A&T, the defending champion, was chosen as the preseason favorite to win the MEAC, followed by Howard, NC Central, Bethune-Cookman and Florida A&M to round out the out the top five spots of this year’s preseason predicted order of finish.

Norfolk State was picked sixth, followed by South Carolina State seventh, Savannah State eighth, Morgan State ninth, and Delaware State tenth.

Earning All-MEAC Second Team honors were senior offensive lineman Kendrick Hair and linebacker Damu Ford. Senior offensive lineman Robbie Stephenson, senior defensive backs Kendric Gathers and Alex Brown along with redshirt sophomore Cliff Benjamin, Jr. were all named to the All-MEAC Third Team respectively.

Season tickets to SC State home games are still available. For more information, go to or contact the SC State Ticket Office at 803-536-8579 or 1-800-298-9157.


RANK     SCHOOL      

1.              North Carolina A&T (19)

2.              Howard          

3.              N.C. Central   

4.              Bethune-Cookman

5.              Florida A&M (1)

6.              Norfolk State

7.              S.C. State

8.              Savannah State

9.              Morgan State

10.            Delaware State

()= First place votes

Leave a Comment