North Charleston Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Celebrates May Week 2018

Jeanine Arnett, Executive Director of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

The North Charleston Alumnae Chapter (NCAC) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. invites the public to attend its May Week Observance, to be held on May 20, 2018 at 4:00 pm at Felix Davis Community Center, 4800 Park Circle, North Charleston, SC.  The theme for this celebration is “Joy in our Sisterhood…Power in our Voice… Service in our Heart”.  The featured speaker will be Mrs. Jeanine Arnett, who serves as the national sorority’s new Executive Director and is a member of the Loudon County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.   

In her role as Executive Director, Mrs. Arnett is responsible for the daily management and operations of the National Headquarters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc, where she provides supportive leadership to the National President & CEO, the National Executive Committee and the National Executive Board.  She is charged with implementing the programs and policies of the organization.  A native of Brooklyn, New York, Mrs. Arnett holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and African American studies from Syracuse University and a Master of Arts degree in Political Management and Legislative Affairs from George Washington University. A former Capitol Hill staffer and senior government relations professional, Mrs. Arnett has over seventeen years of experience in public policy, government relations, advocacy, public affairs, and corporate communications.

The NCAC Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. will culminate the year by honoring the 2018 Young Achievers, selected from North Charleston High Schools, in their areas of excellence. These Young Achievers include:  Catherine Grant (Student Government) from North Charleston High; Lizbeth Jacinto (Art) from R. B. Stall High; Treveon Hampton (Music) from Military Magnet; Jada Orr (Writing) representing The School of the Arts; and Zaria Lyde (Student Government) from Garrett Academy of Technology. 

The 2018 Community Service Recipients being recognized include: Robin D. Dezelle-Washington, Educational Development; Reverend Dr. Rickey C. Dennis and the Honorable Dorothy Williams, Political Awareness; Kesha Wall Graham, Physical and Mental Health, and Mrs. Virginia White Jamison, Economic Development. Also, the 2018 Scholarship recipients, participants in Growing and Empowering Myself Successfully (GEMS), and the 2018 Delta of the Year will be honored. A reception will follow the program.

Leave a Comment