Brandon Parker, De’Arius Christmas, Amir Hall Lead 2017 BOXTOROW College Football All-America Team

( North Carolina A&T offensive left tackle Brandon Parker was the top vote getter and is one of 29 players selected to the 11th annual BOXTOROW All-America Team.  BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2007 and the voters are comprised of media members from around the nation that cover HBCU football.

Parker was named MEAC Offensive Lineman of the Year for the third year in a row. He has helped lead the undefeated Aggies to 429.5 yards of total offense per game and in his four years, has never surrendered a sack. This is the third time Parker has been selected to the BOXTOROW All-America Team.

North Carolina A&T offensive left tackle Brandon Parker

A&T leads with seven selections. Grambling had four selections led by SWAC Defensive Player of the Year linebacker De’Arius Christmas, who received the most votes amongst defensive players. Christmas has registered 79 tackles (42 solo) and 14.5 tackles for loss so far this season.

Grambling and North Carolina A&T play in the Celebration Bowl on Saturday in Atlanta.

Other highlights on the team include Virginia State running back Trenton Cannon, who was named CIAA Offensive Player of the Year and rushed for  1,638, averaged 148.9 yards rushing per game and  rushed for 17 touchdowns, averaging 7.7 yards per carry. He was also selected as All-America kick returner.

Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall was also named to the team after completing 65 percent of his passes for 3,519 yards with 49 touchdowns and just four interceptions. He also rushed for 406 yards and eight more touchdowns.

South Carolina State linebacker Darius Leonard, the reigning Willie Davis Defensive Player of the Year, was named to his second BOXTOROW All-America Team. Other players selected to the team multiple times include North Carolina A&T linebacker Jeremy Taylor, Tuskegee linebacker Osband Thompson and Southern defensive back Danny Johnson.

Hall, Leonard and Thompson will be among those vying for the BOXTOROW Superlative Awards, which will be announced on Wednesday. The awards include Offensive Player of the Year, Willie Davis Defensive Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Special Team Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

2017 BOXTOROW All-America Team

QB:     Amir Hall, Bowie State, Jr., Bowie, Md.
RB:     Trenton Cannon, Virginia State, Sr., Hampton, Va.
RB:     Marquell Cartwright, North Carolina A&T, r-Jr., High Point, N.C.
OL:      Kenyon Brantley, Alcorn State, r-Sr., Crossett, Ark.*
OL:      Leeward Brown, Tuskegee, Sr., Miami, Fla.
OL:      Timothy Gardner, Alcorn State, Sr., Indianapolis, Ind.*
OL:      Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T, r-Sr., Kannapolis, N.C.$
OL:      Trenton Scott, Grambling, r-Sr., Huntsville, Ala.
OL:      Gerald Wright, Howard, Sr., Miami, Fla.
TE:      Dillon Beard, Southern, r-Sr., Baton Rouge, La.
WR      Elijah Bell, North Carolina A&T, Soph., Wheeling, West Va.
WR:     KhaDarel Hodge, Prairie View A&M, r-Sr., D’Lo, Miss.

DL:      Stefen Banks, Savannah State, Jr., Columbus, Ohio
DL:      Kawuan Cox, North Carolina Central, Soph., Summerville, S.C.
DL:      Darryl Johnson, North Carolina A&T, Soph., Kingsland, Ga.
DL:      Aaron Tiller, Southern, Sr., Columbus, Ohio
LB:      De’Arius Christmas, Grambling State, Jr., Vicksburg, Miss.
LB:      Darius Leonard, South Carolina State, r-Sr., Lake View, S.C.^
LB:      Jeremy Taylor, North Carolina A&T, r-Sr., Kinston, N.C.*^
LB:      Osband Thompson, Tuskegee , Sr., Miami, Fla.*^
DB:     Danny Johnson, Southern, Jr., East Feliciana, La.^
DB:     De’Aumante Johnson, Grambling State, Sr., Plain Dealing, La.
DB:     Franklin (Mac) McCain, III, North Carolina A&T, r-Fr., Greensboro, N.C.
DB:     Davanta Reynolds, North Carolina Central, Jr., Tucker, Ga.

P:            Jamie Gillan, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Jr. , Leonardtown, Md.
PK:         Marc Orozco, Grambling State, r-Jr., Denton, Texas
RS:         Khris Gardin, North Carolina A&T, Jr., Morganton, N.C.%
PR:         William Flowers, Bowie State, Soph., Baltimore, Md.
KR:         Trenton Cannon, Virginia State, Sr., Hampton, Va.

Honorable Mention
QB:         DeVante Kincade, Grambling; Lamar Raynard, North Carolina A&T
RB:         Martez Carter, Grambling; De’Lance Turner, Alcorn State; Robert Chesson, Bowie State;  Justin Hardy, Miles
OL:         Sam Baptise, Alabama State; Justin Brown, Benedict; Darriel Mack, North Carolina A&T; Victor Tamba, Bowie State; William Waddell, Grambling
TE:          Trey Scott, North Carolina A&T
WR:        Brandon Britton, Bowie State; Jequez Ezzard, Howard; Norlando Veals, Bowie State
DL:         La’Allan Clark, Grambling; Chaz Cosby, Saint Augustine’s, Ebenezer Ogundeko, Tennessee State; Derrick Tate, Bowie State
LB:         Chris Collins, Tennessee State; Reggie Hunter, North Carolina Central
DB:         Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union, Jonah McCutcheon, Tuskegee; Ju’Anthony Parker, Prairie View A&M; Diquan Richardson, Bethune-Cookman; Carlo Thomas, Johnson C. Smith
P:            Nathaniel Tilque, North Carolina Central
PK:         Nick Christiansen, Miles
RS:         Bret Sylve, Kentucky State
PR:         Lorenzo Smothers, Fort Valley State
KR:         Darius Floyd, Prairie View A&M

* indicates tie
$ three-time BOXTOROW All-American
^ BOXTOROW All-America in 2016
% BOXTOROW All-America in 2015

Leave a Comment