NABJ Announces 2016 Scholarship Recipients

The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce its 2016 scholarship recipients.

NABJ awards scholarships annually to deserving students interested in pursuing careers in journalism. This year, NABJ has awarded $27,500 in scholarships. 

“NABJ is committed to helping our student members reach their full potential by providing financial assistance. Our scholarship program continues to be a strong initiative to help defray ever-rising educational costs,” said NABJ President Sarah Glover. “We are proud of this year’s scholarship recipients and we will continue to nurture the next generation of media professionals.”

NABJ’s scholarships are a part of the Student Education Enrichment and Development Program (SEED), which provides professional and educational opportunities to students pursuing careers in journalism. Since 2009, NABJ has awarded $470,196 in scholarships.

Below are the recipients of NABJ’s 2016 scholarships:

Maya King – Les Payne Scholarship, Howard University

Natalie Henderson – Carole Simpson Scholarship, Central Michigan University

Malika Andrews – Larry Whiteside Scholarship, University of Portland

Bamidele Idowu -Stuart Scott Scholarship, Syracuse University

Antonio Scott Dewayne Wickham High School Scholarship, University of Memphis

Mahlia Posey – Visual Task Force Scholarship, University of California Berkeley

Aloni Hill – NABJ Scholarship, Regent University

Brandi Montgomery– Allison E. Fisher Scholarship, Howard University

Jesse Sparks – Visual Task Force Scholarship, Northwestern University

Polly Irungu – Visual Task Force Scholarship, University of Oregon

For more information about NABJ’s scholarships, please visit the NABJ scholarship page or contact [email protected].

Leave a Comment